Today, I’m with Her

flat800x800075f-c075800331-u1When I was eight years old, my third-grade teacher assigned us a project on our future career.  I chose “First Woman President” as my career.  Today, I cast my ballot in the hopes of never fulfilling my third-grade dream—but rather allowing Hillary Clinton the honor.

The past eighteen months have been arguably some of the most divisive in U.S. history, and today it ends.  At the end of the day, either Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump will have been elected President of the United States, and I can only hope that we have chosen well.

Through all of the rhetoric and debate and passion, I am comfortable with my choice.  A President Trump does not represent my ideals, and I believe doesn’t represent the ideals of a lot of the people who are voting for him.  Trump is a man who is so consumed with himself that he couldn’t possibly be fit to run this country, and nothing could dissuade me from this stand.

At the end of the day, Hillary’s emails don’t matter.  Her political history doesn’t matter.  The FBI doesn’t matter.  What does matter is the freedoms her platform offers.  Today, I voted for freedom.

I voted for affordable healthcare.

I voted for education reform.

I voted for reproductive rights and closing the wage gap.

I voted for the decriminalization of marijuana and for LGBTQ rights.

If today, you voted for Donald J. Trump, there is nothing that I can say that will convince you of your mistake.  All I can do is try to reassure you: nobody is trying to take away your guns.  We don’t want to tax you out of existence, and your “way of life” is not at stake.  America does not need God.  We don’t want to rip babies apart, and we aren’t cheating.

Donald Trump is not our answer, and America is still great.  I would like to keep it that way.

Today, I voted for the America that I would be proud to live in.

Today, I am with her.

-Rowan Seets

 

Leave a Reply

